US President candidates

Hi Grit

As politics is slow in the UK today, due to snow getting into the brains of our Members of Parliament and freezing their brains (which might be seen as a welcome reflief), I thought I would take a web stroll through the US news on presidential canidates for 2008 on the grounds that this would be a less slippery place to be. However I am not sure that I achieved this.

I first came across some news was about Barak Obama and Hilary Clinton. Obama is portrayed as a mixed race, ex-pot smoking, religious convert without a stain on his character who some consider will be the first non-white President, and says that his intention is to unite the Democrats and Republicans (Oh Really?). Clinton on the other hand is portrayed as an old campaginer, ex-first lady with stains only on her husband’s past (Clothes?), with the machine to be able to fund and stay the course. Some also consider that Al Gore, of Global Warming film fame, based on a report that has been proved to be in error in at least 25 different instances, could also come into the frame. Then there is Senator Joe Biden, who apparently is renowned for his ability to pose questions in a manner that no-one understands let alone knows how to answer, and Senator John Kerry who they see has as much chance of successfully telling a joke as I have of becoming pregnant.

And this is just part of the Democrat list. However, at this stage I became seriously depressed at the whole thing, so I phoned the Samaritans to ask them to send someone round to stop me from going outside, laying down on the lawn and waiting from the snow to cover my confused brain. The reason for my condition was the fact there was one major omission in all of the stories I have read. I intend, providing my brain can take it, to look at the Republican band tomorrow. But I do not hold any hope of finding anything more promising.

The missing link? ……………….. Politics. Not in one story that I read did the media give one single comment on the policies that any of these candidates support or are proposing.

Then, just as the Samaritan person was banging on the door, it occurred to me why politics was missing. The election is set for 2008. Four years from that is 2012. I guess that your political parties have decided that, as the world will end in 2012, they might as well treat the electorate to a comedy President for the final term. After all, who is going to give a damn?

the Brit   

One Response to “US President candidates”

  1. britandgrit Says:

    Hi Brit,

    At these times, and many others, I find a good stiff drink (or 5) helps to clarify things. So go pour yourself a tall one, and let me explain. In our politics, the liberal side is understood to stand for certain base propositions, like tax the Evil Rich, give Government money to the poor, side with sexual deviants, remove any trace of religion from society, etc. Thus, with the cooperation of our news media, who are 90% liberal, Democrats are free to campaign in a very loose style during the primary part of the political season, where only registered members of the party are allowed to vote. Once getting the Party nod to be THE candidate, they will take on an even less liberal public face. This, and you are most observant to pick up on it, is the big disadvantage to only having two valid political parties.

    the Grit

Leave a Reply

