It looks like it’ll be our turn next.

Hi Brit,

As you probably know, just about every country in the world has, at one time or another, invaded and conquered France.  I’ve always felt cheated that the US has not had a turn.  Now it looks like my dream may come true, France Tells U.S. to Sign Climate Pacts or Face Tax.  I say that, coming as the remarks in the article did from President Jacques Chirac, this is tantamount to a declaration of war, and we should start gathering an invasion force at once.  That shouldn’t take long, since the French would probably surrender in short order to a well armed troop of Boy Scouts.  I would tell France and Jacques to kiss my ass, but I fear they might enjoy the experience.

the Grit

3 Responses to “It looks like it’ll be our turn next.”

  1. britandgrit Says:

    Hi Grit

    There the French go again, putting their foot where my mouth is. Who gave France the right to speak for the EU as a whole, or the UK and me as an individual. It is not as if it is even their turn behind the driving wheel, as this dubious pleasure is Germany’s right now.

    I do hate back seat drivers, especially when they try to tell people what they know I think.

    the Brit

  2. tamino Says:

    When the American colonies went to war for independence from England, one country came to our aid: France. Of all the European nations, the first one to copy the American experiment in revolutionary democracy was: France. In gratitude for our example of liberty to the world, we received the magnificent gift of the Statue of Liberty from: France.

    It’s a pity that you have such a short view of history. If not for the French, we Americans would still be speaking English.

  3. britandgrit Says:

    Hi tamino,

    I know all that, and WWI and WWII put us at least even. However, speaking of history, you might recall that our separation from England was driven, in part, by taxation without representation. Last I checked, I don’t get to vote in France.

    the Grit

Leave a Reply

