Global warming, Big Government, and Big Business

Hi Brit,

I’m starting to figure out how the fuss over “Global Warming” is being taken seriously and to the extreme.  Consider the following articles:

Airlines accused on climate change

Miliband warns of lifestyle change

Taken separately, they sound like more of the same old story.  The EU is finding out why the US didn’t jump on the Kyoto treaty bandwagon, and Environment Secretary Miliband is a loon.  However, if you look at the big picture, a pattern starts to emerge, and, as all too many things seem to do, it’s a mosaic done in money.

Since we’re all stuck with Big Government these days, and their primary job is to get bigger, they are constantly searching for new things to tax.  In the airline story, we see that they’ve finally found a way to tax air.  Of course, there’s no way the world economy can support all the new “environmental” taxes that are coming now that there’s a hole in the dike, so a way has to be found to perk up the industrial sector.  Big Business, as one would expect, is all to happy to get in on that.  The lifestyle article gives us a glimpse of what the long term plan is, everything has to go and be replaced by expensive new “Green” technology.  Just think of all the jobs that’s going to create.  Unfortunately, the other side of this coin is a new need to loot the third world, again.  All that manufacturing has to be done in the existing developed countries, since they want the tax revenue, but the raw materials are going to come from the back waters of the world, where they don’t mind the gapping holes in the ground left by strip mining.  The corrupt governments of these countries are going to be bought off with a slice of the tax swag, and some pretty new toys to hand out to the natives.  What a sweet plan.  I wonder who thought of it?

the Grit

9 Responses to “Global warming, Big Government, and Big Business”

  1. tamino Says:

    Gentlemen,

    You may be interested to know that this week’s “Temperature Record of the Week” on my blog is: Great Britain. Skip past the graphs for Forestburg, SD, and you can see what’ been going on in the U.K.

  2. Lord Crimson Says:

    Greetings from the Realm

    You gotta love this David Miliband. Imagine him taking on the responsibility of telling everyone in Britain how they should live. What a guy. Am I the only one, but do you find it strange that he talks about the environment like it’s his wife.

    Lord Crimson

  3. britandgrit Says:

    Hi tamino,

    The temps are weird here (Memphis) as well. As I recall, the week before last it was 20 degrees cooler than average, and while I don’t know what the normal for today is, I’m almost certain it’s not 64 F 🙂 I shall definitely check out the Brit’s weather, thanks.

    LC,

    I suspect Milband has a blow up doll with a globe for a head 😉 Of course, Pelosi isn’t much better, although I do notice that our liberals seem to exempt themselves from the rules they want to push on the rest of us.

    On the up side, I just bought gas for my truck at $2.06! Thank you Wal*Mart.

    the Grit

  4. Lord Crimson Says:

    Oh Man you certainly have a way with words… globe for a head…. excuse me I’ve got to wipe the tears from my eyes.

    Ok I’m back – Gas here is $2.20 I feel so cheated.

  5. britandgrit Says:

    Hi LC,

    Not just any globe either, one of those that’s a composite of satellite photos, all blue and swirly clouds. Wouldn’t want to play country favorites with the fantasy 😉 Look on the bright side, with Pelosi as Speaker there will be enormous mounds of blog fodder.

    $2.20? You can pay that here if you buy from Exxon.

    As to the way with words, I’m getting inspiration from the Zeppelin CDs I got for Christmas. I’ve got a great wife!

    the Grit

  6. Lord Crimson Says:

    Country favorites… stop… stop!

    Ok I’m back again – I can hardly wait to see what Pelosi does first. If nothing else there’s no reason not to have a little fun.

    Zeppelin, nice choice.

    Lord Crimson

  7. britandgrit Says:

    Hi LC,

    At one point I had all the Zeppelin there was on vinyl. Of course, modern technology forced me to move to cassette, which died. I’m slowly catching my must have music collection to CD, just in time to move it to MP3. At times, I hate technology.

    As to Pelosi, there is already the little problem she had taking a picture with $90,000 Jefferson 🙂 Much, much, more will undoubtedly follow.

    the Grit

  8. I do believe we predicted this… « Conversations with Brit & Grit Says:

    […] would seem that we have ESP, Business smells whiff of money in climate change – Global Warming, Big Government, and Big Business.  OK Brit, concentrate on this weeks lottery […]

  9. Federal Farmer Says:

    Your post on global warming makes me think you might be interested in the post and comments on international governance (i.e., expanding the multi-level governance) regarding pollution limits. See: http://soozah.wordpress.com/2009/10/12/consolidation-what-the-fight-is-really-about/

Leave a Reply

