Hi Brit,

I do much the same thing myself.  Well, I do it in liquid form.  When I can steal enough apples away from the deer and birds, I make several gallons of apple wine.  My friend who owns the winery down the road fixes me up with the good yeast, so it comes out around 12% alcohol.  Generally though, my wife keeps me from terrorizing the neighborhood.

On a related side note, we used to have elk on the farm, 100 years ago.  The growing population in the area pushed them out.  However, the State Fish & Game department is in the process of releasing elk back into the area.  Considering that our farm is an island of habitat in the midst of urban sprawl, I’m sure some will wind up here.

the Grit

Leave a Reply

